Corine Lescop was born in Canada from French parents, which gave her dual nationalities from birth. At the age of 10, her family moved to France, which represented the first step of her world tour, immersing herself in the cultural pool of old European traditions.

This change of life, climate, landscapes, and customs is an opportunity for her to sharpen her artistic sense, which she will do through the attendance of painting workshops, in particular, that of Caroline Corre, in her artistic center in Verderonne, Oise, where she will spend many years observing and learning.

She opens her eyes, heart, and mind to the colors of the world, her interest in African art – born from her time spent in the Ivory Coast – as well as her intuition for the abstract help her get accepted at the age of 17 to the Beaux-Arts de Paris. Corine then enters Yankel’s workshop, son of the world-renowned Kikoïne de la Ruche – close friend to Soutine, Modigliani, and other masters.

She chooses the US, land of all superlatives, for her second initiatory journey. There she will develop her personality as well as an affinity for grandiose landscapes. The most intense cultural shock will undoubtedly be that of Orient. From her first experience in Japan, Corine keeps the endearing memory of a captivating culture and civilization, from then on devoted to painting and traveling.

 

Freshly graduated from the Beaux-Arts, she goes back to Tokyo and starts her career via art galleries, exhibitions in major malls across Japan – very dynamic in the promotion of artists – but also through private galleries in the Ginza neighborhood, the Japanese equivalent of the Champs-Élysées.

 

She then continues her Japanese adventure, steadily growing her reputation all through the six years spent living between France and The Land of the Rising Sun, where she acquires the knowledge of the Japanese language that she speaks fluently. Always driven by a thirst for adventure, she will visit a multitude of Asian countries, and study the Chinese language as well, which she is still learning to this day.

 

Back in Europe, Corine settles down in Brussels, Belgium, where she finds the tranquility needed to continue her painting, as well as pursuing her quest of Asian cultures through the study of Japanese calligraphy first, during three years, then Chinese, which precedes it by millennia.

This ancestral art very quickly becomes a source of inspiration that seeps through her own creations. Corine now does exhibitions in France, Belgium, and exposes calligraphy to a public then little familiar with this form of expression.

During an exhibition in Paris at the “Impression” gallery in 2004, Corine meets Chinese artists who, seduced by her work, give her a unique opportunity: to exhibit in Beijing on the occasion of the French-Chinese year of 2005. The stars are aligning for Corine, who accepts without a shred of hesitation.

 

An outstanding venue would host the exhibition: The National Archives of the Forbidden City.
She would, later on, have the privilege of being featured at the Central Institute of Fine-Arts of Beijing and other art institutes throughout China.

 

Her notoriety grows year after year in Chinese artistic circles, where her rare qualities as a calligrapher do not go unnoticed by the current actors of the discipline. Thrilled to invite an occidental to their exhibitions, they put Corine’s work – for which they do not hide their admiration – in the spotlight.

 

She keeps on exhibiting in Europe and Asia in several museums, next to members of the collective from the Institute for the Chinese Writing Research Institute, who has adopted her – rare privilege, in a country where this art maintains considerable importance throughout the ages, and where European who practice it are considered with a certain restraint.

 

Her attraction for the Chinese language and writing – enriched by five years of self-taught studies, unquestionably opens doors. She demonstrates her profound interest in the culture itself and has no pain being taken seriously by Chinese art representatives in search of legitimate and worthwhile European ambassadors.

 

This new adventure in a China awakening to the West will develop her taste for contemporary Chinese art, so rich these days. From now on, her work will be influenced also by Chinese figurative painting. She will also sometimes add ideograms purely for aesthetics.

 

For a few years now, her exhibitions in Brussels multiply, during a period of her life she will dedicate to the exploration of new artistic waters, devoting herself to collections touching on the themes of Nature, the Human Body, as well as landscapes that she will have the opportunity to admire during her last stay in the South-West of China.

 

Calligraphy has been present for 30 years in her work, where even in her landscapes, poetic references give life to sceneries.

© 2019 Copyright | CORINE LESCOP | All Rights Reserved

Corine Lescop est née au Canada de parents français, ce qui lui confère la double nationalité dès sa naissance. À ses 10 ans, sa famille s'installe en France. Elle accomplit alors la première étape de son tour du monde, se plongeant ainsi dans le bain culturel des vieilles traditions européennes.

Ce changement de vie, de climat, de paysages et de coutumes est l'occasion pour elle d'aiguiser son sens artistique, ce qu'elle fera grâce à la fréquentation d'ateliers de peinture, notamment celui de Caroline Corre, dans son centre artistique de Verderonne, dans l'Oise, où elle passera un temps considérable à observer et à apprendre.

Elle ouvre ses yeux, son cœur et son esprit aux couleurs du monde, sa passion pour l'art africain – où elle séjourne quelques temps - et son intuition de l'abstrait lui font tout d'abord réussir à l’âge de 17 ans son concours d'entrée aux Beaux-Arts de Paris.

Corine entre alors dans l’atelier du peintre Yankel, fils du célèbre peintre Kikoïne de la Ruche, ami proche de Soutine, Modigliani, et autres grands artistes.

C’est aux Etats-Unis que Corine effectue son second voyage initiatique, pays de tous les superlatifs, où elle développera sa personnalité ainsi qu’une affinité pour les paysages grandioses. Le choc le plus intense sera certainement celui de l'Orient. D'une première escale au Japon, Corine garde le souvenir envoûtant d’une culture et d’une civilisation captivantes, sa vie à jamais vouée au voyage et à la peinture.

Fraîchement diplômée des Beaux-Arts, elle retourne à Tokyo et débute sa carrière artistique par le biais de galeries d'art, d’expositions dans de grands magasins à travers le Japon - très dynamiques dans la promotion d'artistes - mais aussi dans des galeries privées dans le quartier Ginza à Tokyo, l'équivalent nippon des Champs-Élysées.

Elle continue ensuite sa traversée du Japon, lui tissant petit à petit une réputation grandissante au cours de ses 6 années passées en alternance entre la France et le pays du soleil levant. Elle en profitera pour acquérir la connaissance de la langue japonaise et, toujours animée d’une soif d’aventure, découvrira une multitude de pays d'Asie.

De retour en Europe, Corine s’installe en Belgique, à Bruxelles où elle trouve la tranquillité nécessaire pour continuer sa peinture, ainsi que pour poursuivre sa quête de la culture asiatique grâce à l’étude de la calligraphie - d’abord japonaise pendant trois années - et par la suite chinoise, qui lui précède historiquement. 

Cet art ancestral devient très vite une source d’inspiration qu’elle introduit dans ses propres créations. Corine expose désormais en France, en Belgique, et fait découvrir la calligraphie à un public encore peu familier à cette expression.

 

 

Lors d’une exposition à Paris à la galerie « Impressions » en 2004, Corine rencontre des artistes chinois qui, séduits par son travail, lui offrent une opportunité unique : aller exposer à Pékin à l’occasion de l’année France-Chine de 2005. Les étoiles s’alignent pour Corine, qui accepte sans hésiter.

C’est dans un lieu illustre que se déroulera l’exposition : Les Archives Nationales de la Cité Interdite. Elle aura également le privilège d’exposer à l’Institut Central des Beaux-Arts de Pékin et autres Instituts d'Art dans toute la Chine, à l’occasion d'expositions internationales de l’Art et de la Calligraphie Chinoise.

Sa notoriété croît d’année en année dans les cercles artistiques de Chine, où ses qualités rares de calligraphes ne passent pas inaperçues des acteurs actuels de la discipline. Ravis d’inviter une occidentale à leurs expositions, ils mettent ainsi à l’honneur le travail de Corine, pour lequel ils ne cachent pas leur admiration.

Elle continue d’exposer tant en Europe qu’en Asie dans plusieurs musées, aux côtés d’artistes chinois, membres du collectif de l’Institut de Recherche de l’Écriture Chinoise, l’ayant depuis adoptée - privilège rare, dans un pays où cet art conserve une importance majeure à travers les âges, et où les praticiens européens sont considérés avec une certaine retenue. 

Son attrait pour la langue et l'écriture chinoise - étoffé par 5 ans d’études autodidactes - lui ouvrent indubitablement des portes.
Elle démontre de facto son profond intérêt pour la culture en elle-même, et n’a aucune peine à se faire prendre au sérieux par les représentants de l’art Chinois, en quête d’ambassadeurs européens de qualité.

Cette nouvelle aventure dans une Chine qui s’éveille à l’occident développera son goût pour l’Art contemporain chinois, si riche actuellement. Désormais, son travail sera influencé aussi par la peinture figurative chinoise. Elle y ajoutera parfois des idéogrammes par pur esthétisme.

Depuis quelques années, ses expositions à Bruxelles aussi se multiplient, lors d’une période de sa vie qu’elle consacrera à l’exploration de nouvelles eaux artistique, se consacrant notamment à des collections portant sur les thèmes de la Nature, du Corps Humain, ainsi que les paysages qu’elle aura eu l’occasion d’admirer lors de son dernier voyage dans le Sud-Ouest de la Chine.

La calligraphie est présente depuis 30 ans dans son travail, où même dans ses paysages, des références poétiques donnent vie aux scènes.

© 2019 Copyright | CORINE LESCOP | All Rights Reserved